mulching strawberries

simple life

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Well its been raining here all week and its reallyl helping the gardens along, and saving me money on the water bill.
I planted strawberries a couple of weeks ago and they look good.
I haven't mulched them and I think I heard you use mulch on them,but am not sure if it was straw or regular type mulch.
Also, was thinking of putting putting down a layer of
10-10-10- first.
I have carrots, lettuce,tomatoes,peppers,onions,watermelons,pumpkins,
beans,spinach,cucumber,garlic and broccoli as well do I just do the same with all of them or do they require something different?
I feel really bad about all the questions but this is my first time with a vegetable garden and I don't want to screw it up.
I have not problem buying shrubs,trees and all that but with the vegetables I am not so confident.
I did the square foot method and I am nervous that things are too close together even though that is the way its done.I wanted to try it this way since I only had 160 square feet to work with and I wanted to utilize it the best I could. I have since added another128 feet that will be used for vegetables as well but that still only brings it to
288 feet which will be a little better to work with.
Next year I will know what I am doing more and hopefully have a system down.
Thanks for all the help everyone.

silkiechicken

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Best of luck. I don't mulch my strawberries. I just let them grow in a patch and they do fine. I also don't fertilize them, but the soil here is pretty rich and I move them every 3 years or so.

calee

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
For the summer, you'll want to use a thin layer of straw. If you have old straw, that's best. You just want enough to keep the fruit from actually touching the soil & spoiling.