My Bloodleaf is dying

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm TOTALLY new to gardening. I got about 7 houseplants that were all okay for cats (I have three curious cats!). None of them except one is doing very well. I think the biggest problem is that I do not have any places in the house that provide good sunlight.

But the one in particular that I'm most worried about is my Bloodleaf. It's shrivled and withering away, the leaves look really bad too. I saw little house gnats on it, but I read around the internet and it looks like those shouldn't kill the plant, but are more of a nuisance.

I also purchased a plant light and I've been shining it on there for about 5 hours a day now for two days, but I feel like the plant is getting worse.

Any suggestions? I can answer any questions you have and even post a picture later if this forum allows me to.. I just don't want my cute plant to die!

Also, just to add, even though the houseplants are not poisonous to cats I've still put them up high, so I know my cats are not chewing them so that's not the problem...

so lucky

Garden Master
Reaction score
Welcome, LeoCharlieZoey. Does your bloodleaf have a tag with the botanical name on it? I am not familiar with a houseplant called bloodleaf. I think lotsa times a grower will just "invent" a name that is easier to remember than the botanical name, but it doesn't help you when you want to look up info. Also, the little gnats are possibly a clue that the soil is too damp and getting stagnant. If you have some regular flourescent shop or utility lights you can put the plants under--up close to--that will provide a substitute for a bright indirect natural light. If you don't have a tag, after you have posted at least 10 posts, you can post a picture of your plant. That will be easier to help you with.

MeggsyGardenGirl

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
LeoCharlieZoey said:
Yes the tag said Iresine herbstii.