New Gardener- HELP - re: Seed Starting

lisasGarden

Leafing Out
Reaction score
I am having a terrible time starting plants from seeds. This is my first year trying to start from seeds and I really wish I had a someone to show me how to do this. I have tried to read books and how tos on the internet. However, I have made a complete disaster of it so far. Now I am afraid it is too late in the season to retry. Here is my story on what I have done so far. PLEASE HELP!

I bought a lot of really great seeds online. The germination rate was really good. I bought little jiffy biodegradable pots along with Jiffy starter seed mix. Then I bought storage containers and put a fluorescent light bulb on each of the containers. I had this all plugged into a light timer set for 10 hours of light each day. However, I didnt realize that I had the timer set to ON. So for the first 7 or so days the plants were getting continuous light. I was wondering why they were growing so fast....yikes. Also I read that I should be watering from below, but the jiffy seed mix doesnt seem to want to soak up the water. The plants were doing so poorly (none of them would stand up) that I decided to plant them into my garden as the weather here in north Georgia has been wonderful. It was 85 degrees yesterday. While planting them I noticed that the soil in the pods were completely dry in the middle. This tells me that my watering system (soaking up from below) is not working.

Two days later all my plants are dead. What should I do, start over with seeds indoors or sow directly outdoors. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

These pictures were taken in the beginning before the plants started falling over. I am thinking the plants grew too fast. I am wondering if my system is good and I just need to start over without 24/7 lighting or if I need a totally new system? It being April do I just put the rest of the seeds outdoors?

7311_img_1274.jpg

7311_img_1278.jpg

7311_img_1279.jpg

AmyRey