Oleander trimmings in the compost?

chills

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
i just trimmed my oleander trees and i dont want to pass up a opportunity for green stuff .. i was going to strip off the green leaves and throw them together with lots of brown leaves.
ive read mixed messages, the plant is toxic .. i wont eat the compost ... but im kinda scared cuz im still new at this ....
do you put oleander trimmings in your compost pile?
thanks

injunjoe

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I am not a pro but I put many many toxic tropical trimmings in my compost. The idea of the compost is to make it cook so to say.
I have been doing this for many many years now.

I would not put to many in at one time though. Think layers.
A bit of green, brown,ect...

chills

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
thanks injunjoe, that was my theory too, i was going to use some water in between as well, not soaking but damp ...
i was trying to remember that if it came from the earth it can go back to the earth through my compost pile, but im sure there are those 'no dont do that' times ..
thanks

Greensage45

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Yeah,

I have Jimson weed in mine, along with Deadly Nightshade and what ever else rears its ugly head in my garden. I don't have any oleanders though.

I know they are highly poisonous but most animals wont eat them, except human kids and goats; this is where the mishaps occur.

If you think about it, anyone that gets mulch from their City's recycling Center is likely getting a ton of all kinds of goodies such as oleander.

The only thing I would think to be a problem is the bulk of it. Oleander is a bit heavy on the cellulose and will probably take a full season to move through the compost pile.

I would do it.

Ron

injunjoe

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Just thinking about this but I also put in Caster Bean leaves, Phothos,
four-clocks and many other tropical suspect plants into my compost.
Not to mention all the Morning Glory scraps!
monkey3.gif