post pics of your bee yards

lorihadams

Leafing Out
Reaction score
I am new to beekeeping and I am trying to figure out how to set up my bee yard, the bees are coming in 2 weeks and I am trying to get ideas for my setup.

Could those of you with bee yards please post some pics???

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
Mine still needs some work, but here's the current location.

22927_dscf5086_web.jpg

You guys might recognize this photo...it's the background on my blog! I used Photoshop to make it look "painted". ;)

This photo was taken in the afternoon, so you can tell by the tree's shadow that my hive faces southeast. Our worst weather usually comes in from the west/southwest. It's not directly under the big poplar tree, so it gets filtered sunshine. The fenceline behind it helps protect it from deer knocking it over and there is some brush/small trees behind to help serve as a wind break. Really, on this hilltop, it's nearly impossible to get out of the wind.

One big problem with my current set up is that my hive is too close to the ground. Another annoying problem is that it is located on a bit of a slope and that makes it difficult to get in there and work it.

I'm going to move it over from it's current location about 20 feet to the left in the picture, where the ground is more flat.

Here is a picture of the kind of hive stand I'm going to build (except my posts will be set in the ground.)

Hop on over to www.beesource.com to get all your honeybee questions answered thoroughly. I've even had posts that renowned experts have commented on there. It is the go-to hub for all things honeybee. :) :bee I don't think Nifty will mind me referring you there since we don't really have a bee forum here (although there are many of us who do have bees.)

lorihadams

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Thanks Journey, I'll give that a try.