Pot Size for tomato seedlings?

SandRun

Sprout
Reaction score
I usually start seedlings in a newspaper pot. Does anyone else do this, and if so do you leave them in the newspaper pots until you plant them in the garden. I've been repotting them as they grow, but it's such a pain. Should I just start out with bigger pots or is leaving them in the newspaper pots OK?

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
I'm not sure what to tell you about newspaper pots - I have no experience with them.

I start tomato seeds in a common container and then transplant the seedlings into a flat with a 48 cell insert. Those cells are individually about 1 1/2" by 2 1/2".

If the cold weather lingers, I need to pot up into a larger size so as to keep them from becoming root-bound. I usually use 4" pots at that time.

All of these plastic containers last for a number of years.

Steve

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
I thought I had the same great idea-after doing some research, it seems that transplanting from smaller to bigger is very important to strengthen the root system....I was hoping to just plant in a big pot and directly plant it in the garden...Good luck! Let us know how you do...

OaklandCityFarmer

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I do a similar process to what Steve has described above. We used wooden crates, then separate out individual seedlings into cells that are about 4inches deep by 2x2" or so. And they're fine until we set them out 4-6 weeks later.

I have used the newspaper pots in the past and haven't been too satisfied with them in the past. Tend to fall apart too early and just too much work, IMO.

As long as they are lasting the entire time you need them and the roots are not being exposed too much on the outside or bottom, or being bound inside then you should be fine.

Carlos

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score