Potatoes, Potatoes, & saving Fingerlings for seed potatoes?

Kim_NC

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
We've been digging and digging potatoes - red pontiac, white kennebec, yukon gold and red fingerlings. They're fabulous! A couple night's ago DH actually cooked addtional potatoes after dinner for his dessert! LOL

We had to mail order the fingerling seed potatoes. I'd like to save some of what we have for seed potatoes for next year.

Usually we store potatoes in our root cellar, eat all we want. If any make it to Feb and grow eyes we use them for planting. But I'd like to be a bit more 'scientific' with the fingerlings so that we're sure to have seed potatoes from them.

Any suggestions?

ducks4you

Garden Master
Reaction score
East Central IL, Was Zone 6, Now...maybe Zone 5
Okay, I'm a potato newbie. This is 2nd year I've planted them, but last year they got smothered by weeds. Now my 14 Yukon Gold plants are gosh, darn glorious, and I've done my best to mulch the bottoms. Okay, WITHOUT starting a new thread, help me with the harvesting. I still have some flowers on two of them, and I understand that I can harvest some "babies" in about 3 weeks.
How long should I wait before I start pulling up plants?
Can I wash the dirt off of them?
Can I start storing them, and will Yukon Gold store well?
(Not a big problem, since DD's and I intend to cut, double-bag and freeze them for mashed potatoes this winter.)
Has anybody here ever planted a 2nd crop, like about NOW?
Anxious for your thoughts!! :caf

BetterHensandGardens

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
You really shouldn't "harvest" the potatoes until the foliage has completey died off later in the fall, continue to let them grow and make potatoes down there.

If you want to start harvesting "new potatoes", you need to gently dig down in the soil they are growing in (don't pull the plants out) and find some of the small potatoes that are down there. Gently fish them out, and then wash them off and use.