Pruning peach trees

Smiles Jr.

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I'm somewhat familiar with the importance of pruning grapevines as it has a major impact on fruit production but I have no experience with peach trees. I have 12 semi dwarf peach trees in the orchard (planted 6, 7, and 8 years ago) and their production has been very mixed from year to year. This past season several of the trees were so heavily laden with fruit that the branches almost touched the ground and have permanently bent the branches. I need to cut lots of branches this winter but I would like to go into it with some degree of knowledge about the dos and don'ts of peach tree pruning. Any advice would be appreciated. Happy New Year everybody.

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
My experience with peaches is that they don't grow as vigorously as apple trees do. You can chop off an apple limb and it will start a new one from a water sprout, but peaches won't do that. You want to prune peaches into a vase shape, opening up the middle to sunlight and air circulation and remove any branches that touch or overlap much. And prune out dead or diseased branches of course. Most of your pruning is done when the tree is young. After that you shouldn't have to prune much other than the damaged branches. If the scaffold limbs come out at a nice 45 degree angle, they should be good and strong and not break under a load of peaches. I heavily thin out my baby peaches too, leaving them a good fist's width apart.

catjac1975

Garden Master
Reaction score