raised bed gardening

farmchick

Leafing Out
Reaction score
I have been gardening for 20 years, however I have never tried raised bed gardening and would like to set up raised beds for next spring. Could someone tell me how to go about building frames? Also.. I have really good soil in my garden, can I fill the beds with that soil or do I have to buy bags of potting soil? I need some one to clue me in as to what size of beds to build also. We live in the country and usually have a very large garden.

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Regular good garden soil is just fine (=is good to use). You don't want the beds to be wider than you can conveniently reach into, which for most people means 4' or at *absolute total* most maybe 6' if you are a tall person with long arms and enjoy reaching. (One of the big points of raised beds is to avoid walking on the soil). They can be any length you want. I have never really understood the fad for lots of 4x8 beds with space all around them - you don't really need to go between 'em every 8' :p

You can buy any of probably three dozen kinds of not all that inexpensive widgets to affix landscape ties, lumber or pavers together to make the edges of the beds. Or, you can just, you know, build it yourself and make it sturdy :) It is often a good idea to have a stake or post every 4-6' down the side of a long bed, made of something strong and rot-resistant driven deeply into the soil, to prevent the side from bowing out under the weight/pressure of all that soil.

Actually of course you do not HAVE to have sides on raised beds at all, if you only want to raise them like 6-10" which is plenty for most purposes. Just hill the dirt up and poke it with a hoe every now and then when it starts subsiding along the edges. Really truly ;)