Scratching around . . .

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
My gardens are in multiple locations. That means, I have more neighbors than many people enjoy ;). I have been gardening at one location for over 15 years (the rental property of a gardening friend) and at another location for 7 years (the oversized vegetable garden of an empty nest gardening friend). It seems that I'm always "just over the fence" from someone.

The rental property is in a neighborhood with poor people. One of my perennial aggravations there are the aggressive dogs!

The other garden neighborhood is quite different - an "exurb" setting with small acreages and large homes. Actually, I've also been in that neighborhood for over 15 years but am now across the road from where I started. Those folks were elderly and sold their home.

Not long after I started hanging out in the neighborhood a building began to go up down the road. I now garden right beside it. At first, I thought it was a "plumbing shop" or some business like that. Certainly, there were no businesses around in this somewhat genteel neighborhood but I couldn't figure out why a 5 stall garage was being built with no residence on the property. Later, I learned that it was a retired guy's "work shop."

Yes, he lives about 5 miles away, on a lake. I've never been to his home but we enjoy talking over the fence and I have been over to his shop to see some project he has going. Or! Taking a tour of this retired guy's most recent camper/motorhome/recreational vehicle!

The other day we were talking about how a passenger rail line long ago passed by - one can still see where the tracks cut thru a small hill on the other side of the river :). I said that we should have that transportation option again and get some of the dang cars off the interstate! He nearly jumped straight up in the air
shocked.gif
! He told me what he is paying for property tax for his home on the lake, an incorporated part of the county.

abacus.gif