Soup not jam

Katie85

Leafing Out
Reaction score
HELP!!! I am new to cannig and preserving and a giant Mess!!!!!

I have had no one to teach me and have been trying to learn on my own. Every batch of jam or jelly I have made is not getting thick enough. I have tried both with and without pectin and follow directions to a T. The only jelly I hot to thicken was pepper jelly and It got to thick (think jello wiggler molds).

Also,any advice, tricks, recipies would be welcome for all types of Preserves. I have a pressure canner (burnt a batch of suop so still figuring out and failing) and mastered the water bath!

flowerbug

Garden Master
Reaction score
HELP!!! I am new to cannig and preserving and a giant Mess!!!!!

I have had no one to teach me and have been trying to learn on my own. Every batch of jam or jelly I have made is not getting thick enough. I have tried both with and without pectin and follow directions to a T. The only jelly I hot to thicken was pepper jelly and It got to thick (think jello wiggler molds).

Also,any advice, tricks, recipies would be welcome for all types of Preserves. I have a pressure canner (burnt a batch of suop so still figuring out and failing) and mastered the water bath!

hi and welcome to TEG :)

i used to make a lot of jams/jellies, but in recent years i've switched to making just strawberry freezer jam because i love the taste of it so much more and it is pretty easy to do and good to not have to run the stove in the middle of summer.

i've not done any other kinds of freezer jam because i don't grow any other fruits to try. :)

for cooked jams/jellies there are several ways to check gel, thermometer is most accurate, but you can also do the spoon drip method, i'm sure youtube has vids of this, let me see if i can find one...

try this:

but if that one doesn't work for you just put:

jelly making spoon gel test

in your youtube search :)