Southwest ohio here.

Merelyatheory

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
This is my first year of gardening. My family have gardened my whole life and to be honest I was lazy and not reliable enough to have living things under my charge. I now find it an obsession. I sometimes can't sleep for the fear of rabbits, raccoons, deer and the like. I found one of those horned tomato caterpillars on a Roma plant I started early this winter indoors and I almost lost it. I didn't squeal or anything, I just panicked. I then spent the rest of the day turning over every leaf on every one of my then thirty some odd tomato plants. I checked the Peppers after that just to be certain. This wasn't the first time I ran into bug troubles. The striped cucumber beetles have tried to eat everything from my sunflowers to.....well.....my cucumbers and almost everything in between. I have turned into a lean mean beetle killing machine since. I am very much like a new parent. I have not had a child yet myself but I have watched them from afar. I refuse to hold a child until he/she can legally hold a factory job and by that point it would be inappropriate. It goes back to the not being reliable for another living thing, That is why I am gardening. I thought Baby steps, right? In some ways though I think it is a little harder. Correct me if I am wrong but I am not sure parents have to worry about deer in the night while trying to sleep or finding a caterpillar has eaten a few of their child's fingers and being glad he didn't wiggle his way over to the other hand or god forbid eaten an ear. Right now I want to grab my flashlight and go check and make sure they are all safe, I am sure that is universal though. I remember the first day I set my tomatoes outside to harden them, I was a mess. I kept looking out the window, waving like an idiot to plants, wondering if it was a mistake and maybe it was too soon for them. I remember my parents acting the same way when I went to school fo