Squash identification??

TanksHill

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Hello all. I have this squash growing that I planted from seed. I received the seeds from Baker Creek and I believe they were in a mixed squash pack. I can visualize the picture but can't recall the name. I have looked over the past two catalogues and can't seem to find it.

Do you know the name? How young should it be picked? Any help would be great.

Thanks, Gina

5900_img_1864.jpg

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I am of no use, I'm still new to squash and trying whatever I can right now... starting with the run of the mill squashes. :/

bills

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I've never heard or seen one of those Cushaw's before..It looks like they can grow to a pretty significant size!

I have never tried eating an immature squash before. Do they lack flavor?

TanksHill

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Honestly I picked them young because I thought they needed to be tender. I have not eaten them yet. Maybe I will shred and donate these picked ones to my chickens.

They are doing amazingly well. I also have the White Lebanese squash from Bakers Creek seeds. Looks like I need to figure out some method of cooking and storing. It is a very abundant producer.

g

TanksHill

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I needed to revive this post because I have more questions. I have many of these squash now almost at full maturity. They are turning a golden tan like my butternut. I guess my question is that for regular pumpkins you pick when the vines die? Should maybe I do the same for the Cushaw squash?

I will get some pictures later for you all to see. Maybe this will help. :idunno

g

old fashioned

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
TanksHill said: