Three Sisters Garden

aidenbaby

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I am wanting to create a three sisters garden (corn, pole beans, squash). Actually, it'll probably be more like 4 or more of them. I didn't get any squash seeds though so I'm planning on improvising with watermelon, cantalope, pumpkin and cucumber. I hope it'll turn out. This is my first time trying this technique.

farmerlor

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
The mistake most people make with three sisters is to plant the corn in rows instead of hills. If you plant the corn in hills and wait for it to get big enough to support the beans before planting them and keep those melons or cukes in the valleys between the hills you'll have a great crop. A little straw or newspaper mulch will help keep you weed free and moist until the melons and cukes get big enough to take over the job.

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I am creating this same situation in one raised one. I have created a hill for my corn... and then I will plant my beans at the mid section of the hill to grow up the corn.

I am planning on a pumpkin plant or 2 at the base of the hill in the raised bed. So far I have a handful of 6" corn stalks... so I have a little while still before I can plant the beans... and I'll plant the pumpkin at the same time.

My cukes, eggplant and melons are set up on trellis's in another bed. I'm thinking sunflower might be a good addition!

Good luck, I've heard wonderful things about this technique.

Rio_Lindo_AZ

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I'm also trying to create a three sisters garden. I just finished planting my squash to give it a head-start. In a couple of days I'll plant the corn, and in a couple of weeks I'll plant the beans. Since my soil is very poor, I'm hoping this technique will allow me to grow heavy feeders. :D

big brown horse

Garden Ornament
Reaction score