Time to make da 'mater juice !!!!

janetnjim

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Probly the easiest thing to make from the garden
Run the maters thur the strainer,warm it up while ya prep the jars. Pour it in with 1/4 teaspoon o' salt and cook 'em fer 10 minutes....... DEEEEELICIOUS !!!!!

Picture006.jpg

Picture009.jpg

Picture011.jpg

MMmmm...now if only i drank beer. What a wonderfull mix.

Rosalind

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Tomato juice and beer? I dunno about that...How about tomato juice, a dash of Worcestershire, a shot of hot pepper-flavored vodka and a sprinkle of Old Bay?

MrsCountryChick

Leafing Out
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to canning... but if you blanched the tomatoes in hot water & removed the skins, Then ran thru your 'juicer' (the one in your 2nd pic) couldn't you take the 'pulp' that comes from juicing & cook to make a little tomato paste? Cuz you'd be using the really meaty part of the tomato.

janetnjim

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Rosalind said:
Tomato juice and beer? I dunno about that...How about tomato juice, a dash of Worcestershire, a shot of hot pepper-flavored vodka and a sprinkle of Old Bay?
C'mon Rosa, don't knock it now till ye try it. I like mine 'bout 50/50. It truely tates beter than it sounds.
Also, if yer a beer drinker,mixin the two towards the end o' the night, absolutely eiminates any hangover the next day.
Give it a try.

janetnjim

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
MrsCountryChick said:
I'm pretty new to canning... but if you blanched the tomatoes in hot water & removed the skins, Then ran thru your 'juicer' (the one in your 2nd pic) couldn't you take the 'pulp' that comes from juicing & cook to make a little tomato paste? Cuz you'd be using the really meaty part of the tomato.
It isn't a "juicer" it is a strainer. Look up Victorio Strainer.