Tomato and Onion questions...

Beekissed

Garden Master
Reaction score
1. Tomatoes: Do you guys sucker anyway if the sucker has bloom forming? Even my small, new suckers seem to be sprouting bloom! I've never had them set bloom until they were sizable. Up til now, I have left them on the vine if they were big enough to bloom....but this is a whole new situation! I have had some very fine tomatoes grow on sucker branches in the past, but was wondering just where to draw the line?

2. Onions: I have planted Walla Wallas and Candies and was wondering what is the tallest of these that you've ever seen? I have had no experience with these since I was young and can't remember back that far. I have some planted between the tomatoes in a SFG spacing and was afraid that they would get too shaded by the tomatoes (on a teepee trellis) eventually. It appears they are fighting for sunlight....they are a couple inches shy of a yard tall right now!!! How tall can I expect them to get? Does too much top growth mean little bulb growth or does the bottom grow accordingly? As we still have alot of growing season left, was wondering just how tall they will get???? :th

bunch-a-chickens

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
i can't really answer your questions, but do you know where all the little shoots come off the walla walla onions? about a half an inch above that is where you can clip them when they're young so that they produce more root and less shoot(and seeds)

Grow 4 Food

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I never prune my tomatoes. However my DW grandpa had 24in across cages that his grow in. If it sticks out he cuts it off! Never tucks anything back into it and always has more than he know what to do with.

Onion = couldn't tell you. That is one of the few things that I have never been able to grow.

OaklandCityFarmer

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score