Uses for Raspberries?? Anyone?

retiredwith4acres

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Suggestions? I just picked a half gallon raspberries and have already done 14 jars jam. Do I freeze them whole, dehydrate them for later, make fruit roll ups???? I am new to growing raspberries, as you can tell. They are not even half finished producing and we will be gone to basket weaving convention next week. I guess I could do all the above things but not sure I will use them later , so am I wasting my time.

Carol Dee

Garden Master
Reaction score
I agree with So Lucky. If you don;t think you will use them after freezing or dehydrating. I am sure there is someone that would be delighted to have them. I would go ahead and freeze if I didn't have time to use them right now. They are great to snack on frozen. Toss a handfull on icecream or better yet make raspberry icecream. :drool
We planted 6 plants this spring. We hope they survive and produce next summer. How many bushes do you have?

NwMtGardener

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I spread mine out on cookie sheets in the freezer for a day or two, then dump them into ziplocs to store frozen. I then mostly just take out a handful for on my cereal, or to put in smoothies. I've also used the frozen berries in the winter in all kinda baked desserts...brownies, fruit cobblers, fruit bars, or raspberry sauce for on a pound cake or something.

retiredwith4acres

Garden Ornament
Reaction score