Watermelon Growth. *NEW PIC*

theOEGBman

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Well,

This year was my first year growing watermelons. I planted 4 different varieties, and I believe 3 of the 4 germinated. The two smaller varieties are just putting on tiny fruit, but the other variety is amazing me. Its called Orange Tendersweet, they are from Burpee. I've counted about a dozen melons on the plants, Im not even sure how many plants I have. I planted them in a bed, and they are all over. I wanted to show you guys how much this melon has grown in just 4 days. Im sure they all grow this fast, but since this is my first year with them, Im amazed,lol.

Here it was on the 3rd of July.

355.jpg

Here it is on the 5th.

002-9.jpg

And here it is today, on the 7th.

004-12.jpg

Here it is on the 9th!

031.jpg

July 11th!

378.jpg

July 14th.

382-2.jpg

Tutter

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Looking good; it must like the weather! Is the heatwave supposed to make it there? It's hot here today, and getting hotter this week!

You should take a photo of it every couple of days, maybe with a ruler, and then make a page on watermelon growth! :)

What variety is it?

Thanks for showing us how it's doing! :happy_flower

theOEGBman

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Tutter, that was my thought exactly! It was horribly hot today, and tomorrow its supposed to be 110.

I actually have been taking a pic every other day, but the only thing I had nearby to measure with was my hand, LOL! Since I graduated from school, I dont think we keep a ruler in the house. :p

It's and Orange Tendersweet. They were the only cool looking variety at Walmart, so I grabbed em!

OaklandCityFarmer

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
110, wow, it was 88 today and I was complaining. ;)

That looks great Jordan! We planted our watermelons really late so we are just starting to get some fruits to set. Hopefully they grow that quickly!