What can be grown in pots?

ninny

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I wondering what can be grown in pots that we can eat? Fruit and veggies needed. Also im a newbie in a big way. Any plants that would be good to start with?

boggybranch

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Hi ninny,

Search "container vegetables". Found a good link and tried to list it for you, but for some reason it wouldn't access from here.

bills

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
The book "Square foot gardening" might be handy to read through as well, as this method could be used for container gardening. It gives you an idea of how many seeds for the different veggies could be planted in a given area.

Obvious starters would be radish, lettuce, tomato's, but depending on the space you have, container size, and what you like to eat, you could grow almost any veggie, perhaps other than corn.

Large containers can actually be a good way to grow spuds. Easy to harvest when mature..Squash, or cucumbers, trained on a trellis above the containers should work as well.

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
What area of the country are you in? That makes a big difference. Without some careful thought, container gardening where I am can be a death sentence for the poor plants :p

ninny

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
wifezilla said:
What area of the country are you in? That makes a big difference. Without some careful thought, container gardening where I am can be a death sentence for the poor plants :p
I think zone 5? Im in illinois

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Ok...you are in the midwest...more humid environment.

You should have a pretty easy time.

I have these moisture retaining crystals I add to all of my containers otherwise they dry out in less than a day. I also have to avoid tera cota pots or line the pots with plastic.

I have pepper plants and basil growing inside right now.

cwhit590

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
ninny said:
wifezilla said:
I think zone 5? Im in illinois