What can I do With Horseradish?

baymule

Garden Master
Reaction score
Yay!! Journey sent me some horseradish to plant! :weee The only exposure I have had to horseradish is the little jars from the grocery store. I mix it up with ketchup, tabasco, worchestershire and lime juice for a sauce to dip boiled shrimp in. It's good, but having fresh horseradish takes me to another level. The only problem is, I don't know what floor I'm on......... runs to check elevator Yup, my elevator don't go to the top floor! :gig

So I have questions for ya'll that already grow your own horseradish..........what recipes do you use it in? How do you prepare it? What dishes do you cook with it? Can you cook it by itself or is it always used as a condiment?

Total horseradish newbie here...... :lol:

dandelionchick

Leafing Out
Reaction score
I was wondering this too baymule. Mine are 2 years old now. I know DH will grind some up and add vinegar but isn't quite happy with the results.

seedcorn

Garden Master
Reaction score
Wife mixes it with beets. Tames it and spices up beets as a relish.

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
Yea! I'm glad to hear it made it safely. They asked me if I wanted to insure the package, and I'm like well there's more where that came from! :p You'd be surprised what a tiny piece it can sprout back up from too. I found one that had broken off when I was planting rhubarb nearby (which will have to be moved, actually) and it was only as big as the tip of my pinky and it was growing leaves! I'm pretty sure you couldn't kill it if you tried. :lol: