What Do Fellow Zone 7-ers Grow In The Garden?

Reaction score
I'm in Arkansas in Zone 7. I finally managed to start a vegetable garden this year. We planted pepper plants, tomato plants, and a strawberry plant. The strawberry plant did quite poorly and eventually died. The pepper plants and tomato plants have done quite well and we've made three batches of salsa from them. My question is what else grows well in Zone 7? When do you guys plant these things? Do they need shade or sun? I have chickens and think it would be cool to grow some food for them to cut back on feed costs. However, I don't know what would do well and I don't know when to plant it. I would love to find out some more things to grow for my own garden as well. Also, what would be good to plant in a food plot for the wildlife or a field? Sorry for so many questions. I'm a planting newbie. :D

desertlady

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I am zone 8 you can almost plant pretty much anything but melons. Sun is best for them to grow. Now its the time to plant , so you will have Fall crops. Beans, tomatoes, bees, lettuce. cabbage, carrots.. or your choice you want to plant !

catjac1975

Garden Master
Reaction score
Curious. Why not melons? I thought they loved the heat!
desertlady said:
I am zone 8 you can almost plant pretty much anything but melons. Sun is best for them to grow. Now its the time to plant , so you will have Fall crops. Beans, tomatoes, bees, lettuce. cabbage, carrots.. or your choice you want to plant !

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
:frow Welcome to the forum! :frow Glad you joined us! :frow

It's good to have another Arkansan on here. I suggest you find your county extension agency, in the phone book under county government, and get their bulletin "Year-Round Home Garden Planting Guide". It gives you a calendar of when you can plant what. For example, in August we can plant: