What Is Wrong, The Students At This Southern California University?

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
Had not heard of that so I looked it up to see if it was real. It mostly is. A student body committee voted to ban all national flags from one specific area on campus, a lounge. This included the American flag. The student body executive council vetoed that resolution a few days later. It was not the entire student body that voted for that, just six kids. Six immature, idealistic, naïve kids active in student government. And it was quickly vetoed by the student council's executive committee.

You can read into it what you will but I don't see it as a call to overthrow the US Government by force backed by the entire student body of California Irvine. But my frame of reference may be warped. I was a college student from the late 60's into the mid 70's when student activism was pretty rampant. Seven years to get a four year degree, delayed by two years of military service and a year of working to earn money for school. I remember very late nights staying up playing risk, drinking beer while some kids did other illegal things, and having some really wide ranging political discussions with all types, though most of the student activism on my small campus was centered around trying to get the girls the right to not be locked in the dorm by 10:00 p.m., 11:00 on Fridays and Saturdays. That rule was changed.

This is part of what the executive council said when hey vetoed that committee's vote.