What to spray on Apple trees

farmerdannc

Sprout
Reaction score
I am new to apple trees and have three and want to know what to spray or apply to get the best apples with few blemishes

Rosalind

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Well...It depends.

-What kind of apple trees do you have? Some are resistant to some diseases, therefore you might be able to get away with spraying them less.

-What shape are the trees? How neatly do you keep them trimmed? If they have been neatly trimmed and the branches are spread nicely, there is less chance of some diseases. Along the same lines, do they get much wind? Wind through the branches helps keep fungal diseases under control. How are they sited? A well-trimmed tree on a southern slope that gets oodles of sun and a good breeze will rarely need spraying for anything other than bugs. The wind and the sunlight will take care of most other diseases.

-What USDA zone are you in? I am assuming more northerly, as apples need a lot of chill time. However, some areas that don't get many hard freezes also have a lot more bugs. I live in New England, where the long snowy winters tend to keep insects more manageable.

-Do your neighbors have many fruit trees? If, for example, their trees are harboring some diseases, then your trees might also easily become infected. If there ain't another fruit tree for 20 miles, you're in luck there.

Generally I would recommend spraying once or twice with dormant oil in the late fall after the last harvest, then lightly spritz any sickly-looking trees with a bit of Bordeaux mix in the spring, and putting red ball sticky traps around to catch apple maggots.

Also, how many apples are we talking here? I've seen Japanese apples done fancy, where they pick all but about 2 apples off a branch, and those two apples get HUGE. They wrap the apple in an individual paper bag as it grows to keep off bugs, so it stays perfect. It's time-consuming, but it's an option.

wailingbanshee

Leafing Out
Reaction score