What went wrong with my radishes??

i_am2bz

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
This is my first year for radishes (since kiddie-hood, anyway). I only planted (from seed) 20 or so. I probably got 4-5 actual radishy-looking bulbs, the rest look like rhubarb! :p

So what did I do wrong? Why didn't they develop bulbs instead of just thick red stalks? If I can figure out where I went wrong, I'll try to grow some more this fall.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
I have had the whole lot of them fail to bulb when they were grown in the shade. . . .

Hot weather will also have that result.

Steve

Chickie'sMomaInNH

Garden Master
Reaction score
i think planting the seed to deep or shallow also has something to do with how well it bulbs. i found that some radishes are like onions, grown close to the surface and they seem to bulb better!

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Just too hot sweety... I've gone through the same thing. Many of them just don't like the warm weather we've been having. :p

i_am2bz

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Dang!! And I planted them in February; you'd think that was early enough! :/

Well, I'll give it another try this fall.

Thanks, ya'll! :)

bills

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I continuously sew radish throughout the summer, and have had good results. Even better if they are in some shade for mid summer plantings. They do like a good watering.

I wonder if you just had bad seed, or in fact, planted them to early, so they were stunted from the cooler spring weather?

i_am2bz

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
bills said:
I continuously sew radish throughout the summer, and have had good results. Even better if they are in some shade for mid summer plantings. They do like a good watering.

I wonder if you just had bad seed, or in fact, planted them to early, so they were stunted from the cooler spring weather?