When can I start veggie seeds indoors in N.central Illinois?????

mothergoose

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I am a novice gardener. We usually buy seeds and started plants for our garden and plant them directly in the ground around late May.
If I were to start seeds in the house, when should I start them for them to be decent size to transplant outside around the end of May?
My husband bought me a greenhouse for Valentines day (6ft X 8ft X 7ft) and hope to put it to good use. I just don't want to start seeds too early and have them get spindly from being in small pots too long.
Thanks for any suggestions from all you master gardeners!
Christie :)

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Not a master gardener. Not even Jerry what's-his-name . . .

Maybe this will help: When Do I Start My Seeds?

I'm starting more pepper seeds today (first of my veggies) and it sounds like you set out transplants about the same time I do, Christie. It's best for you to find your average day of last frost and work backwards from there.

Steve

HunkieDorie23

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
My last day for frost is May 20th. I started my peppers on the 24th because they take forever to come up. Started spanish onions today. Starting Tomatoes on Mar 25th. I have a calendar all written out. It really depends on the plant and when you can plant them in your area. Good luck.

PS I'm a list maker so if your not you don't have to do a calendar. I also have a spreadsheet but that because I get bored with all this crappy weather and it keeps me from become a complete nut. Some people would argue it's not working.

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I started my stuff weeks ago. The house looks like a jungle and there are hanging lights everywhere. I am pretty sure I am dead when we get the next electric bill :p

mothergoose

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Thanks for the input. I think I will start my serious planning and hopefully get some seeds started in the next week or two.