When Do I Stop?

ninnymary

Garden Master
Reaction score
This is my first time composting. I have a bin composter and have added equal amounts of green and brown. I have also added vegetable scraps, chicken poop with shavings, and moisture. I turn it several times a week.

My question is this "When do I stop adding things to it? It seems to me that if I keep adding stuff that the compost will never be ready because there will always be things to break down.
Do I just stop adding and if so what do I do with any new greens and browns, etc. I don't have room for another bin, so I guess I could use the city green recyling bin. I just hate to waste any good stuff.

Thanks
Mary

obsessed

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Ok you got some good questions. Here is my thinking. compost is done when

1. the stuff has no identifiable stuff (e.g. no orange peel, sticks, corn cobs)
2. It doesn't smell or smells like earth
3. generally is black

What you can do is let this pile cook by leaving it alone (aside from wateriing and turning it) and not add any more and start another pile. But you said that is not feasible. Just in case you do when you start another pile use a couple of scoops from the first pile to get you started!

You could just continue to add to and still use it. Compost is not so much done but more of when you need it. Meaning that even if there are still some small bits of identifiable stuff in there you can *tecnically* still use it because the decomposition process with continue once you add it to the soil. The decomposition process uses some small amounts of nutients during the process but if most of the compost is broken down (verse it is not broken down and you have tons of identifiable stuff) you could be fine.