When should I plant herbs?

joycespell

Leafing Out
Reaction score
I am new to growing herbs and i had trans-planted a mint plant and it was fairly large in the beginning of winter in a warm room with plenty of sunlight and water and it died within a week! I had heard it was because i had planted it deeper than what it was when i got it. Does anyone have any tips on herb planting?!?

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Welcome, Joycespell
hi-1.gif

Perhaps it was because of the depth of the plant in the soil. I am wondering, however, if interrupting the plant's transition to dormancy might have something to do with it dying.

Mint doesn't require much light when it is outdoors and, certainly, grows in cool parts of the world. Starting new plants outdoors usually works fine.

Mint plants are notoriously hardy tough and, even, invasive. There are some varieties that aren't quite as robust as others. Mint plants will make roots along their stems and cuttings are the usual way to start new ones. Was it a cutting?

Steve

joycespell

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Thanks digitS'
No it wasn't a cutting, it was the whole plant I had dug up from a grown over garden. It was one of the last plants.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
There could also have been a problem with the soil - either to start with or, over time
The organisms that cause decay began to work on that plant tissue and it was on a downhill path.

Perhaps you can get back to that garden and find another of those mint plants just as it begins to grow in the spring. The vigor of those plants will be much different from one that is sliding into dormancy.