Another Herb question.

Nubsmum

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I can't seem to find this info but I do have several books on back order at the library regarding veg gardening.:tools

Anyway. This is my first year to grow herbs. My basil was started from seed. It is a smaller average variety. Will it just keep growing as long as it has enough room and I bring it indoors for winter? Or is it a plant that will eventually bolt? I have not started new plants thinking this would just keep us supplied but I want to have it year round.

Same questions for mint, oregano, sage and chives. Would love to bring them all inside and just keep them growing until they can come out again next summer. The rest of these I bought as starts.

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
IME basil eventually becomes irretrievably committed to flowering, no matter how many times you pinch it back, and after that you won't get much out of it, quality or quantity wise. I *think* it is by nature an annual.

Mint OTOH should be cut back after flowering if you want to keep a maximal supply of fresh young leaves, but it will live forever and ever and ever, long after you shift from wanting to encourage it to wanting to dynamite it out ;)

Oregano is same as mint -- a good perennial, hardy at *least* to USDA zone 4 -- only slightly less invasive. Uh, in most soils :p

Sage is the same sort of thing only not quite as cold hardy.

Chives are either perennial or just reseed themselves ad infinitum, I don't really know but they just keep going as long as you don't somehow kill them by accident.

Most of the above are not great bets as houseplants unless you can give them absolutely full totally-bright sun all day. However you can often pick them from outdoors (in small quantities) for much of the winter unless you live somewhere really Arctic, especially if you plant them in a sunny place and give them some protection.

Good luck,

Pat

blurose

Garden Ornament
Reaction score