Bugs bug me!!!

Katie85

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Are there any suggestions on how to keep crops from being eaten by things other then you? I know there are a lot of chemicals out therebut they scare me.. I am new to fruit/veggie gardens!

Last edited by a moderator:

flowerbug

Garden Master
Reaction score
learning about what different bugs are, which are problems and what likes to eat them. i've done well here by encouraging diversity. near or in all of the vegetable gardens i keep a few perennial plants growing so that the good bugs can have a place to live during the times when the garden is put up for the winter.

once in a while i do have a pesky bug showing up, but usually i can remove them or trim the plant back. in the worst case i'll remove the plant if it is an annual and i'm not short on seeds/etc.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Learning your bugs is a best first step.

Some people are very willing to spread a chemical on their dishes and wash them. They may even use dishsoap in the kitchen to wash their fruit and vegetables. It's not necessarily a bad idea.

Dishsoap may not be the best idea for their garden plants, however. I have found that an "insecticidal soap" is quite effective against bugs like aphids and spidermites on growing plants. In recent years, I've been using something somewhat similar, neem oil spray. Like the simpler dishsoap that I have used in the past, I find that neem oil is a little hard on plant tissue. I think that I will go back to the soap developed to be used in the garden.

Organic pesticides are usually toxic. After all, they are supposed to kill the pest so they are, at least, toxic to some life. They should be chosen for the specific pest and used cautiously. I often look to the universities for information, like at this website:

http://ipm.ucanr.edu/QT/lesstoxicinsecticidescard.html

Steve

majorcatfish

Garden Master
Reaction score