Crabgrass going wild in the veggie garden.

bills

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
This year I noticed this type of grass growing in the garden, and early in the season I was keeping up with hand pulling it. I didn't know what it was until I did a image search this morning..turns out it's crabgrass..:rolleyes: I don't know where it came from in the first place, perhaps bird droppings..

Unfortunately, a major project I was working on, allowed this darn weed to really take hold in the garden, and now it's gone to seed. It's all over the place!

I'm really worried about what it will be like next year, and suspect it will be 10 times as bad.

I have been growing organically for several years, but in doing searches on controlling this blasted weed, it would seem only a pre-emergent herbicide will kill it all off. I really hesitate to use any herbicide, as well I'm not sure if they pre-emergent types would have residual effects on my veggies.

Anybody know of a solution, or if pre-emergents will cause other issues?

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
What I would do.. or should I say, what I will do!! I am pulling up and any all grass now. I will be very diligent in the spring and get it when it first shoots up (well before trouble.) I am also planning on very heavy mulch. I wouldn't spray. First of all, like you I am an organic gardener- and secondly if there was a spray that effectively controlled crabgrass- it wouldn't be taking over the world! Good luck- weeds are just one of the necessary evils in gardening!

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Bill, it just takes hand weeding, as Lesa says. Of course, her idea of mulches can also control it.

Getting it out "well before trouble" would work fine.

Crabgrass only seems to make rapid growth during the final weeks of its season and just before it goes to seed.

Steve

bills

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I'm to late this year to prevent it from going to seed. Dirty deed is done already..:(