Dahlias sprouting - HELP!

LVVCHAP

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I decided to take my Dahlia tubers out of storage and didn't realize how much they had grown already. I never had this happen before, some of them have long white spindly stems that were reaching for light, some around 12". Do I plant them as is or should I break off the stems? Will they grow new ones if I do? Need some help on this one. Thanks in advance.

6475_100_0245.jpg

6475_100_0244.jpg

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
I don't think it is a big deal- my start to grow sometimes. I would just plant them. I think you should be able to put them in the ground. I am in zone 4, and plant mine in pots first in case we have weird weather. There are some dahlia experts here-I am sure they will chime in. Happy Gardening!

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I think Steve would know! He can help... though I wouldn't worry. ;)

obsessed

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
This is my first year with Dahlia's so I got nothing but where is Steve?!

LVVCHAP

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I sent him a PM, hope he answers.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Sorry!

It looks like you used the approach I used to take: dig the tubers with a spading fork, put them in a box of autumn leaves and carry down stairs for the winter.

These days, only what appears to be good tubers are saved, dirt is removed, everything unnecessary is trimmed off, and they go in peat moss. Then I carry them down stairs for the winter.

Honestly, I don't think I gain anything from this other than having a lighter trip up and down the stairs. It seems that I have about the same number of viable tubers per plant, each year. A good many of questionable vitality are thrown away especially in the fall and some in the spring. There are many to give away.