Green Beans Not Producing,..

Up-the-Creek

Sprout
Reaction score
We have had tons of rain, and it has been warm and humid. I planted 3 rows of White Half-Runners and 2 rows of Romas. I got maybe a 1/2 bushel of Roma beans and they just quit blooming. The Half-Runners (which I will never plant again) I maybe got a little less than a bushel from them and then they just about stopped blooming. They are producing some beans and blooms, but not many. The vines are also turning yellow. Is it too much rain or is it something else??? I know green beans produce better than this. My mother planted 2 short rows of blue lakes and in two weeks she got 3 bushels off of them. I am at a loss, can someone tell me what is going on????

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
My white half runners have not produced all that well, yet they are the variety that my mother in east Tennessee has to have every year and she normally cans a lot of beans from a fairly short row. It's my first year with them here and, like you, I'm not impressed. I think I read that they are considered a bush bean, but they definitely need to be staked. I did notice it took a while for the pollinators to find them, but the pollinators are here now and they are still not producing well.

I'll get my first picking off my blue lake pole beans today. I'm waiting to see how they produce. They are a few days later than last year, I guess due to it overall being a little cooler this year despite that one week where we were really scorching. My father in law in Kansas said they had the third coolest July on record. I don't think it is a normal year for many things.