Greetings from Costa Rica

Reaction score
Upon retirement I researched places where I would like to spend my retirement days, after 3 years of research Costa Rica was the winner! The folks here are just like my remembering of folks back in the early 50s. The people are awesome, the country is so beautiful and the climate is the best. My home is at 3,800 feet just 4 kilometers south of the cloud forest. Our average rainfall is over 100" which comes during the rainy season that last from May to sometimes the end of November. The dry season can be very dry. We often get clouds on the ground with ground fog and heavy mist which is called neblina by the local folks (Ticos). I have a garden under clear poly roof to keep the rains from drowning my plants. I've only had the garden for two years so I am still learning what I can grow here and how to grow it. The area is a temperate tropical climate, never below 58 nor above 85, the humidity is normally high, above 50% even in the dry season and in the wet season 80% and higher. I have gardened over the years but have never had the experience I am having now, just about have to learn all over again. The fruit available here is awesome, we can buy a stalk of bananas for a couple of dollars (here it is colones or 1,000 colones for a stalk). Pineapple that has ripened on the stalk is something to die for, the golden pineapples which are smaller but so much sweeter, just a slice of heaven. The local grown coffee is some of the worlds best, I hardly drank coffee in the states and when I did it was loaded with sugar and cream, here I drink it black, it is sooooooooooo good! No more Starbucks for me (actually I could never drink the bitter stuff anyway). Here the saying is "Pura Vida" the "good life" and it is. :old

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Very well written.

You have "painted" a lovely picture of your retirement home.

Are you the artist or "the Art" ;) ?

Steve

:frow Welcome to TEG :frow !

Reaction score