Grow Lights 24/7

Nyboy

Garden Master
Reaction score
Do trees sleep? I have a lemon tree going on my 2 winter. With the tempture dropping I moved it into my office.I have a grow light for it ,did same last winter, tree did great. After a break in I want to leave a light on at night. Can a tree or any plant, take light 24/7 or do they need dark for rest?

pjn

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Do trees sleep? I have a lemon tree going on my 2 winter. With the tempture dropping I moved it into my office.I have a grow light for it ,did same last winter, tree did great. After a break in I want to leave a light on at night. Can a tree or any plant, take light 24/7 or do they need dark for rest?
I had security lights on 24/7 in my business and the plants did great. They were not trees, however some began to look like trees.

thistlebloom

Garden Master
Reaction score
I'm not an expert either, but plants do need a period of darkness. They have found that trees growing near streetlights begin to develop certain problems. It takes several years to notice the problems, but it happens.

It has something to do with the type of lighting and the wavelength.
In ordinary outdoor conditions the stomata on the leaves close at night. With continuous light the stomata stay open.....and I'm not sure what that does, but that's about all I remember.

It probably isn't going to make a profound difference to your little lemon tree NYboy, so if it's more convenient for you to leave the light on it during the winter I sure wouldn't lose any sleep over it.

Smart Red

Garden Master
Reaction score
Trying to rack my simple brain and remember what I taught for so many years. Plants make Chlorophyll during the day and give off oxygen, but they respire during the night and give off CO2 -- or something like that.