growing / regrowing herbs, help

Gazinga

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
ok, i wanna plant an herb garden now to add to my veggie garden. When i plant this herb garden i would like to grow cilantro, rosemary, parsely and dill. my primary question envolves teh next year regrowth.
How do i make sure i can get these herbs to regrow teh next year without buying more seeds every year. do they do this? does anyone have proven ways of doing this with these herbs?

HunkieDorie23

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
OK, I am not an expert but rosemary is a perennial but only in warmer climates. If you are north of zone 8 you are supposed to pot and bring indoors in the winter.

Cilantro, parley, and dill are annual and have to be replanted each year to have them regrow. Now it is very easy to collect the seed for cilantro (coriander) and dill and replant the next year. Allow the cilantro to flower and produce seed (coriander) and harvest those, the dill, once it flowers and starts to dry clip the flowers off and place into a brown bag for about 2 weeks. Then shake gentle and the seeds fall off.

Parsley... no idea how to do the seed. Sorry.

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
I've never grown cilantro...

Dill is annual and reseeds itself very easily. Save seed once the umbrels dry, but you will also have many "volunteers" pop up in the same spot next year.

As HunkieDorie said, with the rosemary, you will have to pot it and bring it in before frost (unless you are zone 8 and up). It will grow and grow like a shrub.

Now parsley is a biennial. It will make only a leafy clump the first year. I overwinter mine directly in the garden. For my zone it is very hardy and I don't have to mulch it or anything. Your second year, it will make seed (umbrels). Dry and save like you would the dill.

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score