Hand watering vs. Drip Irrigation

ninnymary

Garden Master
Reaction score
I was going to put my mulch down but then I thought...wait a minute...do I want to install a drip system? If so, I need to do that first and then put my mulch down.

I have a very small veggie garden and watering by hand would not be a problem. I have plenty of time to do it. My problem is that I tend to water too much or too little. In the past, I have had to water almost every 2 days. I did not use mulch.:hide

I have amended my soil so hopefully now it is less sandy and will use mulch. I am hoping that I won't have to water as often. My summers are cool so I don't have that much evaporation.

What should I do? Hand water or Drip?

Mary

Ladyhawke1

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I live in Southern California on the coast. Sometimes on occasions, it can get hot. I have just retired and I am new at gardening. :frow

I personally like to hand water with a can. :watering Not only am I getting muscles, am I able to monitor each plant in the garden. It only takes a few minutes because I do not have forty acres to do.

I think the monitoring is important. You can almost hourly see changes. I know that most of you will not have the time like I dobut I find this very rewarding. :weight

hoodat

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I know drip systems save water but it is a lot of fuss and expense to set up. There is also something in me that does not like neat straight rows. That isn't how Mother Nature does it and she's been gardening for millions of years. I just plunk plants and seeds in where room opens up and the mood strikes. At the end of the season my garden is quite a hodge podge but a comfortable one. Actually I should say seasons since in San Diego when the Summer crops start petering out it's time to get the Winter crops in.

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score