Hi from Chalmette, LA (15 minutes east of New Orleans)

popsgumdrop

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here and I am fairly new to gardening. I started gardening last spring. My husband had always been the gardener, but I got started because he has a bad back and could not replant or weed or front garden anymore. Luckily, he can still cut the grass. I couldn't take looking at it anymore, so last spring I went out there and ripped everything up and started over without knowing a thing about what I was doing. I hated every second of it, but I loved the results so much that I couldn't wait for the next spring. Now I'm hooked. I don't mind the work so much anymore because the reward is well worth it. Now we have the front garden looking nice and we have started a veggie and fruit garden. So far this year we have grown tomatoes, eggplant, bush beans, carrots, and lettuce. We also grew strawberries and cantaloupe. In the back yard we have a fig tree my husband planted 3 years ago. It is producing very well this year. The tomatoes did not do fair as well and my carrots got about an inch long and seemed to have stopped growing. I think the soil was not loose enough for the carrots. Oh well, maybe next time. Our fall crop will be corn, more tomatoes :fl, and cucumber. We will add some more in as fall approaches, like broccoli and garlic. Not sure what else yet. We don't have a lot of space, but we are going to make the most of what we do have. I see a lot of people on this board are also on byc. I've been to that site, but I don't have any chickens. I'd love to get some. Maybe when we tear down our old shed we can put in a coop. We'll see. Anyway, glad to be here and looking forward to getting to know ya'll.

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
Welcome! Welcome! I am just sure you need some chickens- their poop is so helpful to the garden!!

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Welcome, Gumdrop :frow!