How Big a Garden to Make?

trion

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
How big should an average veggie garden be? Is there any way to calculate how much room we may need?

I am a total newbie and my newbie friend who has no room for a garden plan on planting a garden in my backyard. While we want to do a lot of experimenting this year and see how it goes, we do not want to go overboard with the space. We plan on fencing it in. Thank you!

blue skys

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
The size really depends on what you want to plant. I am not a good planner, I just kinda change things as I go along. Y'all decide what you want to plant and then look at the suggested spacing for them and go from there.

:welcome

warmfuzzies

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
It really depends on whether you are going to be planting in the old row style, or the newer intensive style beds.

It is really easy to go overboard with the intensive panting, as you fit so much in a small space.

It also depends on what you will be growing. The first thing you need to do is decide what plants you want and then you can do some research on each one to find out how much you will need.

Some plants are way bigger then others. Tomatoes, peppers and the like are medium plants. Almost all of the squash, melons, and the like will be HUGE. The small veggies, carrots, beets, lettuce, are mostly spring veggies. Onions are small and they grow all summer.

When you are picking out what plants to grow, you need to also consider your area. Is it hot and dry? (Mine is) Hot and Humid? Long cool springs, or short hot ones? Long summers, or hardly any hot weather? This will all halp you decide what you can grow easily in a frist garden.

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score