I'm new from west central Illinois

SmallTownIL

Sprout
Reaction score
Hi everyone I live near Carthage Illinois I am starting my very first garden in the spring and hoping it will turn out.. I am full of questions and not quite sure where to post all of them yet according to category. I am on BYC quite often and know a lot more about Animals than plants. I am a Vet tech by day. We just recently bought an empty lot right next to our property and my fianc an I intend to start a garden there along with our 3 year old Daughter who enjoys being outside as much as we do.

Thanks for Reading

Smart Red

Garden Master
Reaction score
Welcome, SmallTownIL! Glad to have you growing with us here on The Easy Garden! Although it's been over 40 years since my first garden, I remember the nervous excitement of getting those first things planted and my pride at my first harvest.

Are you able to do some preparing yet this fall for your garden? It would make next spring's work so much easier if you could. My grandbabies enjoyed having a small space that they could call their own garden (mixed with veggies and flowers they chose themselves). I'm not all that far away and our growing zone should be much the same.

SmallTownIL

Sprout
Reaction score
We were going to try and till up the area before the ground gets hard hoping that it will make it easier for spring, is there something else I should do to prepare, this isn't his first garden he had one growing up so he has some knowledge and as for me I am clueless! I'm pretty excited! my fianc is a pretty picky eater so we already have in mind what we want to plant..

NwMtGardener

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Welcome! :) Glad you joined us, dont stress too much about what category to post in, there's lots of crossover. And a little rambling here and there!

I used to be a vet tech! Now i take human xrays. Let us know what questions you have about gardening and what you're thinking of planting.

SmallTownIL

Sprout
Reaction score