Indoor greenhouse

MuranoFarms

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I've seen these 'mini greenhouse' things advertised on ebay and other places. They're around $40 and have a plastic covering that rolls up in the front for access. Would this be warm enough in my laundry room for herbs? The temp stays around 65 in there. Or would I still need a heat or light source? This is my first attempt at indoor gardening.

Thanks!

hypnofrogstevie

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
do you have a link to the one your looking at? I think with the output of the lights it would get a bit warmer. My room is at 70F and with the aerogarden lights on. The base of the aerogarden gets up to 80F

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
I think light will be more of an issue than warmth. Hard to duplicate that full spectrum sunlight outside... I wouldn't bother with that greenhouse thing, unless you want it for outside- early spring, late fall. Inside you should be fine with just a grow light. Herbs in particular are pretty forgiving.

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
Everyone has bulb recommendations that have or have not worked for them... If you just want to try it and not do a scientific study on lumens, etc. go to Home Depot and get a "Grow Light" bulb. I use an ordinary florescent tube bulb, myself. You should turn it off during the night- the plants need darkness as well.

hypnofrogstevie

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
That is a nice one! We had one like that on the porch. I agree with lesa. I been using 6500K CFL's and they been working great for my houseplant. I would check out pros and cons of each grow light.

you have so many choices... Metal halide, LED, compact florescent light or CFL and florescent tubes. Plus there is more I cant think of right now

MuranoFarms

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
hypnofrogstevie said: