Introducing myself to the community

MontyJ

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Hello all,

Since I have already posted several times I thought maybe I should introduce myself. My name, obviously, is Monty. I've been gardening for about 30 years, sometimes big, sometimes small, depending on where I lived. About 10 years ago I finally bought the property I now live on. My garden, at one time, was over 10,000 square feet. Since I gave up growing giant pumpkins, and most of our girls (4 of them total) have moved away, I have been able to trim the garden size down to about 3600 square feet. I grow everything from apples to zucchini. I have an asparagus bed, rhubarb bed, grape vines, apple trees and peach trees.
I maintain a large compost pile and at one time had a large vermiculture project going. Unfortunately, my job sometimes keep me traveling and the wife is not big on taking care of worms, so I have temporarily given up the vermicomposting. I have studied the soil for many years and spend a lot of effort trying to keep my soil balanced.
I preserve a lot of what I grow by canning and freezing.
My favorite vegetables are corn fresh off the stalk and into the pot, turnips, and kohlrabi. I start nearly everything I grow from seed. I have a germination/grow chamber in my barn and two temporary greenhouses that I set up each spring. My goal is to eventually have a permenant greenhouse, but I have larger, more important projects that must be completed first.

I guess I have bored you enough so,

hello again.

Monty

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
Thanks for sharing your bio, Monty. You will add a lot of depth to this community as you share your experiences. Glad you could join us! :cool:

ETA: We are neighbors too, I see. Gotta love gardening in WV. Humidity and red clay, but we rarely lack for rain, do we. ;)

MontyJ

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score