Last year's sage-- What do I do with it?

NurseNettie

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I wasn't sure if it would last through our zone 4 winter or not-

I've got "old" plants in the garden, and don't want to do the wrong thing, in case they did last. Our snow has just melted off them.

Do I pull the plants? Cut them back? Or let them be? They are all flattened to the ground, with, of course, mostly dead leaves. I just don't know how the plant "works" as a perennial.

Thanks!

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Mine always come back but I am in a much warmer zone by far. I wish I had advice on keeping them or not. In the summer I cut off quite abit of mine for drying and storing. Mine gets kinda icky around christmas out in the garden, and I don't bother harvesting it fresh again until spring. This way I have a back up for those no growth months.

stepstephens2

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I've been growing sage for a few years now... although I have a hotter climate than you I've notice that these plants are the hardiest when you let them do there own thing. I had one that I was growing in a pot that I thought that I had killed. I planted it in my herb bed with the other sages just to see what would happen. Two months later and it is flowering! :D Give it a couple of weeks to warm up and see what it does is my vote. I noticed that almost all the leaves I thought were dead started to perk up by then.
I read somewhere that the leaves have a lot of oil in them (which is why they take so long to dry) and I'm guessing it might make them a little hardier through frosts and snow. I have a book (Advanced Home Gardening) that says it is hardy for zones 4-8. It also says that it will quit looking nice after 4 years, so if it is beauty as well as cuttings you want you will have to replant then.

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score