Leggy cabbage sprouts - start over?

jhook1997

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Here's a photo of my red cabbage seed that I sprouted 2 weeks ago. I'm new to doing everything from seed and was wondering if these look too "leggy" and do I need to start over???

8794_leggy_cabbage.jpg

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
What zone are you in? If possible I would start those seeds outside. They can be planted as soon as you can work the soil... If you can't do that- you might try using a cold frame. Starting seeds inside is no easy task. It is so difficult to mimic actual sunshine...Those seedlings look pretty leggy. You can keep them moist and under the light and see if they perk up- but I wouldn't count on them. Remember the gardeners mantra: try, try, again! Good luck and Happy Gardening!

jhook1997

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I am in zone 7 and we've had a very mild winter so the will be able to get outside fairly soon. I'm building a cold frame but haven't got it done yet. It keeps raining every time I have a chance to work on it!:he

I'm thinking maybe I need to go ahead and sprout some more cabbage in case those don't make it?

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
What are your temps outside now? Still freezing at night? If not, I would experiment and put a few seeds in the garden. Nature is just so much better at growing seedlings than we are!

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Hey dear... my suggestion is to start them right outside. I'm in zone 7b and I will probably start my greens outside in a couple of weeks. My cabbage, spinach broccoli and pak choi always does best direct sown. The cool temps are fine, and I keep row cover material to protect while they're young if we expect a frost.

No need to start indoors... they don't transplant well anyways. :p

jhook1997

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score