Mint reseeding

kitty

Sprout
Reaction score
I'm a newbie gardener and I just bought a full-grown mint plant recently, which is living in a planter box which has space for about 4 mint plants.
What I'm wondering is, given mint's reputation as a monstrous little bugger that takes over gardens (hence it living in a planter box and not my garden), I have to wait for it to go to seed before I get a few more mint plants growing around it, right? How long does that take?

simple life

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Be careful with the mint, I know it smells lovely but it can spread like crazy.
I deliberately do not grow it so I cannot answer your question but I can tell you that I have some in my front yard that I am currently doing battle with.
It came over from a neighbor's yard and its roots grow quickly and quite far from where the plant is, I was pulling it out and the roots went forever, I started to dig it up.
I pulled a plant the other day and the roots grew only a couple of inches down but these were 10 inches across and I don't even know if I got it all.
My neighbor tells me that she had it in a planter and the bottom broke and she did not realize it and it spread all over her yard.
It would be great if it stayed where you want it because its pretty and smells nice but its a pain to keep it under control.

Hattie the Hen

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
:frow :frow

Kitty,
First of all :welcome

As to the mint plant you are right to keep it confined in a container. What is it made of? If it grows crazily fast in your area I would put in a metal or plastic one that is weather-resistant. I would also cut off any seed heads as they appear. Mint grows rather rankly after it has flowered so it is not so good to eat.