Need advice re: corn, squash, watermelon & cantaloupe

chickcritty

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
This is my first year with an actual veggie garden. My previous experience has been growing herbs and tomatoes in pots. This year I fenced off a section of the yard from the chickens, dogs and cats and I've planted peas, beans, tomatoes, corn, radish, carrots, spinach, lettuce, peppers, eggplant, cucumbers, watermelon, cantaloupe and squash. Most everything I've planted is doing great. I've harvested radishes, carrots, spinach, lettuce and peas already. I absolutely LOVE the peas!

I planted the corn in 4 rows of 10. About a quarter of the corn is nice and bright green and growing nicely, the rest is about half the size and a yellowish green color. I have been feeding fish emulsion fertilizer to everything about every three weeks. I water every day to every other day and everything gets direct sun at least 8 hours a day.

The squash is growing pretty good and getting flowers but some of the leaves have the same yellowish green color as the corn. On my zucchini squash a nice little green fruit started growing but then turned yellow and died. Another fruit is now growing and is still green. Don't know if this is normal or if they need some additional nutrient or what.

The watermelon and cantaloupe are growing extremely slowly. Is this normal?

Oh, and I almost forgot my two blueberry bushes got exactly two blueberries on them. What is up with that? They are nice and leafy but no fruit. Do I need to feed them with something higher in phosphorus?

Thanks for any advice!

hoodat

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
The difference in your corn is almost certainly due to something about the soil. Since you indicated it was new ground is it possible some sections were treated with a weed killer or inhibitor?