Newbie needs help planting herbs

Miss Dottie

Sprout
Reaction score
Hello!

I am somewhat new to gardening, although I have always enjoyed planting flowers and things that are easy to grow. I decided to plant an herb garden for my boyfriend for his birthday. I planted basil, oregano, parsley, thyme, cilantro and a few others. Because we are renting our place, I decided to put the garden in pots. I used a general, all purpose potting soil and transplanted my herb plants into their pots. I also used a liquid fertilizer with the water the first time I watered them. We live in Southern California, and it is very hot. That evening, one of the pants started to wilt. By the next day most of the plants had started to wilt. Within 3 days, all of the plants were wilting, and half of them were beyond saving. I tried to save the ones I thought might survive, but none of them survived. I was so sad.

I'm wondering what I did wrong. I thought I might have over fertilized them. Then I thought maybe the heat wiped them out. I'm not really sure, but I'm hoping to et some advice. I bought a new basil and parsley plant to try again, but I'm waiting till I know what to do.

Any advice about planting, soil, water, fertilizing, anything would be greatly appreciated. Or even any other resources that might have some helpful information?.. Thanks so much!

Amy

Reinbeau

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Did you put them right out into full sun after starting them on a sunny window? They need to be acclimated to the brighter light slowly, that may be one issue. Also, most herbs don't like a lot of fertilizer, and some don't like wet feet - of what you planted, all need to be kept evenly moist but not soggy. Those are a few suggestions, tell us more about how the plants were started.

Rio_Lindo_AZ

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score