Peas for canning

Mickey328

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I've grown a few peas from time to time and enjoyed them fresh through the season. This year, I really want to try to grow enough to can for use through the rest of the year. Anyone do this? I need some advice since I'm a newbie at it. There are just 2 of us so we won't needs hundreds of pints, but I'd like to put up maybe 25 or 30. I like to harvest them when they're still fairly small and tender, and would love to get an idea of a good variety and quantity. It'll be about a month before we can get them in the ground here, so I've still some time to get 'em ordered and ready.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
I will push this back to the top, Mickey. It won't be because I know anything about canning peas but I'm hoping that others have had good success with the canning process and will share what varieties have worked well for that.

Shell peas are not the most productive crop for as much room & trellis building effort that they require. Still, they are very nutritious and tasty, too!

I tried a number of varieties trying to come up with the "best" and finally settled on the very-popular, Green Arrow. Since I usually want to sow peas several times and have the hot weather in July slam down on the late planting, I tried Wando because it is supposed to take the heat better than most. I didn't notice anything special about them. One that isn't very special at all is Alaska but that is because I've grown it, at times, nearly as a field crop - sown with oats and for livestock. I will say this, Alaska must be the earliest variety that you can get in the ground and from which to expect a harvest. But, I was always hoping for more actual peas. Green Arrow has done very well for me.

Now, I'll stop and this thread will be at the top :).

Steve

897tgigvib

Garden Master
Reaction score
Other opinion about Alaska Peas here :) Not to disagree too strongly with my friend Digit,