Phaedra's Adventure

Phaedra

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Well, I think my thread is better under random ramblings, as not always garden-related, especially in the winter months.

A new start - let me share two tarts I accomplished today -

Flan Tart with Dark Chocolate Ganache and Caramelized Pecans
15121.jpg

I also used the homemade Vanilla extract (Vanilla beans and Rum) in the pastry cream, it tastes so good!
15124.jpg

15120.jpg

The other is Red Wine-Poached Pear Frangipane Tart - so exciting for the first bite~ the combination of red wine, pear, and the almond cream is so harmonious.

15119.jpg
It's my first time to poach pears in the red wine. Soaking for sufficient time is crucial.
15123.jpg

The first batch sat in the wine for overnight, and the color is already alluring. However, I should have turned off the heat earlier. They are a bit too soft.
15122.jpg

Anyway, there is a lovely balance between the pears and the almond cream underneath. DH and I both love it.
15117.jpg

Both tarts were cut and ready to serve - testers from our neighborhood will pick this evening.
15118.jpg

Phaedra

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
As the weather was pretty mild these few weeks....
Next week, the temperature will drop to -8~-10℃ for about 5~6 days, ahhhh
15154.jpg

15153.jpg

Outside is rainy and muddy....so my focus remains indoors. We found some volunteer testers to try my baking goods. So far, the feedbacks are nice, and a doctor would like to directly order the two tarts I made.

Swiss rolls are also the cakes I like very much, and I added plenty fresh fruits inside.
15151.jpg

15152.jpg

15155.jpg

akroberts

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Well, I think my thread is better under random ramblings, as not always garden-related, especially in the winter months.

A new start - let me share two tarts I accomplished today -

Flan Tart with Dark Chocolate Ganache and Caramelized Pecans
View attachment 63087