Planning Fall/Early Spring garden

Raiquee

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
Hello! :frow

I am in zone 5b, in southeastern WI. I have been gardening only for a couple years, but with great sucess. However there are some things I haven't planted, and I am confused about. These being:

Garlic
Onions
Asparagus
Carrots

I believe all of these need to "over winter" am I correct? So for my zone, when should I plant them? I know DH planted carrots early spring last year, and tried to yank them out early fall. Our results were...sad. While going through the garden this spring prepping it for this year, I found a couple leeks left over from last year (which I pulled and were delish!) and a couple carrots that kinda looked like carrots!

So my question being is, Can I plant these late fall after I've ripped out my maters and peppers? And harvest them early spring (say June at the latest) so I can utilize the space again? Or do they need to be planted for a full spring/summer cycle before they can be harvested the next year?

Also, Potatoes. Can someone guide me to a good page about growing them. I really have NO clue how to grow them. I tried reading some threads...but i'm lost.

DH took away my beautiful huge veggie garden, and gave me a small one on the side of the house instead :( Little does he know, I planted my bush cukes in his beloved flower garden :gig

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Raiquee said:
Hello! :frow

I am in zone 5b, in southeastern WI. I have been gardening only for a couple years, but with great sucess. However there are some things I haven't planted, and I am confused about. These being:

Garlic
Onions
Asparagus
Carrots