Rabbit Food

Nyboy

Garden Master
Reaction score
My bunny came with a big bag of pellets. I want to feed him a mix of fresh greens. Some sites says very little greens mostly pellets, some say greens, all they will eat. He has only eaten pellets.

Smart Red

Garden Master
Reaction score
I have no idea. I am not a rabbit professional.

I fed Rusty fruits, veggies, and other flora which he preferred to the pelleted rabbit foods. The Vet said it was important to his gut/health that he ate mostly the pellets. Eventually we found a pellet mixed with dried veggies that Rusty would eat. Of course, not the cheapest stuff.

Still gave him alfalfa and other fresh foods, just not in the same volume. I also gave Rusty branches from fruit tree prunings as gnawing is important to tooth health. My rabbit did not like/eat hay of any kind although past rabbits did.

Never saw a neighborhood rabbit opening a bag of pellets. . . just saying. . .

Kassaundra

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
If the rabbit has only ever eaten pellets you need to start w/ veggies and weeds slowly. They need the right microbes in their guts to digest properly, a rapid change in diet can give them bloat and kill them. But if you gradually add over several weeks a rabbit can manage even w/o pellets at all if you have enough variety of fodder year round, but even w/o that you can only supplement w/ pellets.

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score